Loading...

Manufactured Homes


Instructions on surrendering a Manufactured Home Title to Real Estate

Please note that the manufactured home title must display the same owner name as the real estate records before the title can be accepted for transfer.

  1. All Liens must be discharged on the front of the title
  2. All Taxes must be paid in full to the Guernsey County Treasurer.
  3. Present Title to the Guernsey County Auditor with the following information:
    1. Real Estate Parcel Number on which the manufactured home is situated.
    2. Physical Address of the Real Estate Parcel.

Instructions on how to transfer a Manufactured Home Title

  1. Have the title properly signed and notarized.
  2. Take the title to the Treasurer’s Office in the county where the yearly taxes are collected. Here you will need to pay any outstanding taxes and obtain an official tax stamp on the front of the title. The Guernsey County Treasurer is located in the County Administration Building at 627 Wheeling Ave., Suite 201. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Treasurer’s office at (740) 432-9278.
  3. Take the title to the Auditor’s office, located up stairs from the Treasurer in suite 301. Here you will fill out the forms needed to transfer the mobile home. You will also pay a transfer fee of 50 cents, and a conveyance fee of $4.00 per thousand of sale price. They will also stamp the front of the title. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Auditor’s office at (740) 432-9243.
  4. Take the title that has the 2 (two) official stamps to the Auto Title Department, located at 224 Dewey Ave. Here you will pay for your title fees and obtain a mobile home title in your name. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Auto Title Dept at (470) 432-9235.

Instructions on how to transfer a Manufactured Home Title when the owner is deceased

  1. Take the title to the Treasurer’s Office in the county where the yearly taxes are collected. Here you will need to pay any outstanding taxes and obtain an official tax stamp on the front of the title. The Guernsey County Treasurer is located in the County Administration Building at 627 Wheeling Ave., Suite 201. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Treasurer’s office at (740) 432-9278.
  2. Take the title to the Auditor’s office, located up stairs from the Treasurer in suite 301. Here you will fill out the forms needed to transfer the mobile home. You will also pay a transfer fee of 50 cents, and a conveyance fee of $4.00 per thousand of sale price. They will also stamp the front of the title. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Auditor’s office at (740) 432-9243.
  3. Take the title that has the 2 (two) official stamps to the Auto Title Department, located at 224 Dewey Ave. Here you will pay for your title fees and obtain a mobile home title in your name. Further questions about this step can be answered by contacting the Auto Title Dept at (470) 432-9235.
    • Probate Court Consent to Transfer
    • Copy of the Death Certificate (A Xerox copy is fine)

Step by Step: The Manufactured Home Installation Process in Ohio

Step 1: Obtaining a Permit
Ohio law requires that all HUD manufactured homes installed since July 01, 2007 have been permitted, inspected and approved prior to occupancy in accordance to OMHC 4781 Rules.
For manufactured home parks: The park owner, operator, or retailer should assist the homeowner with obtaining permits and inspections by an approved agency and allowing only a licensed installer to perform work in a park.
For private property: The licensed installer or homeowner must obtain the permit from an inspection agency having jurisdiction. A complete list of those agencies can be found on our web site or by calling our office for assistance.
Cost of permit and inspection: OMHC does not regulate the fees charged by the inspection agencies; however, all inspection fees must be paid prior to the set of the home. The application must include the licensed installer’s name and license number and names of all contractors involved in the set of the home. You must first obtain a permit for inspections prior to setting a home in order to avoid a $50.00 penalty. You may contact any of the following agencies:

City of Cambridge Economic & Community Development
1131 Steubenville Avenue Cambridge, OH 43725
Permit telephone line: 740-439-5491
- or -
Ohio Certified Inspection Bureau
14 North Court Street Athens, OH 45701
Permit telephone line: 740-541-1292 or 740-274-0917

Step 2: Hiring a Licensed Installer
Licensed installer means any individual licensed by the Commission to create footings, install, set up, hook-up, block, tie-down, secure, level, support, install steps, install shirting, or makes electrical, plumbing, or mechanical connections to manufactured homes or who provides consultation or supervision for any of these activities.
In manufactured home parks only licensed installers are permitted to perform the manufactured home installation.
Finding an installer a complete listing of approved licensed installers can be found at the following website www.omhc.ohio.gov. The licensed installer’s name & license number must be provided and verified prior to issuance of a permit to install a home. The licensed installer is responsible for the complete set of the home.
A homeowner may install their own home for their own occupancy. Home owners who do this lose many of the protections offered by the Commission. Permits/inspections are required and agencies are listed on our web site, or you can call OMHC for more information.


Step 3: Moving the home
Transporters are not licensed by the OMHC. However, they may have requirements under other laws such as obtaining a permit from the State Highway Department or the County Auditor. The cost of the County Auditor’s Relocation Notice is only $5.00 and the manufactured home taxes can not be delinquent and the currant year must be paid in full. You must obtain the relocation notice prior to moving the home in order to avoid a $100.00 penalty.
The location of where the home is being installed is necessary before a permit can be issued. The installer/owner is advised to make certain that the lot is adequate for the home. A professional licensed installer may notice unforeseen conditions that may cause additional expenses if gone un-noticed.


Step 4: Inspection Agency
All HUD manufactured homes in Ohio must be inspected; all inspection agencies provide trained and state certified inspectors for each inspection, assuring the homeowner that the installation is completed consistent with the manufacturers design.
Installers/homeowners must obtain permits from an inspection agency and call for inspections. Prior to moving the home, contact the appropriate inspection agency and obtain the cost of the permit and inspections. In some counties, there may be more than one option, contact each agency to get the best one for you.
Other local authorities: The installer/owner must contact the local government to know of any requirements for that location. There may be zoning, flood hazard, or other requirements. It is the licensed installer’s responsibility to ensure that the home is placed in the correct location, at the correct elevation, on the correct lot with setbacks, etc.


Step 5: Begin to Install the Home
After obtaining permits, the installation can begin. All installers, including home owners, must install according to the Ohio Manufactured Home Installation Standard which provides for several methods of installation including installing in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation manual which comes with the home, if obtainable, or designs prepared by an Ohio registered engineer or architect. Additional items which may not be included in the manufacturer’s installation manual may be required by the Ohio Manufactured Home Installation guidelines and shall be part of the home installation.


Step 6: Call for Inspections
Home owners, acting as their own installer, must call for all inspections. No one shall apply utilities such as power, water, or gas to a home prior to approval from the inspection agency.
When the work is ready for an inspection, the licensed installer or the homeowner must call for inspections from the inspection agency. The minimum inspections are as follows:
Inspection for the footing and reinforcement is required before placement of concrete or pads. In a manufactured home park or an existing site on private property, this inspection is necessary to ensure it is in good condition and adequate for the home.
Inspection for the electrical service: The licensed installer calls for the electrical service inspection when the electrical work is ready. The inspection agency must provide a state licensed electrical safety inspector (ESI). The electrical inspector places an approval tag near the service to let the local electric company know the home has passed electrical service inspection. At that time, electric power may be connected; however, it is unsafe and illegal to occupy the home until all three inspections are accomplished.
Final inspection is called for by the installer or homeowner when all the work is correct and complete. Failure to be ready for the inspection may result in additional re-inspection fees. The inspector may co-ordinate with other agencies such as the local health department to ensure that septic or other inspections have been completed. When the home has been properly installed, the inspector places the OMHC inspection seal inside the home in the proximity of the electrical panel box cover. ONLY THEN CAN THE HOME BE LEGALLY OCCUPIED!


Step 7: Notice to County Auditors and Treasurers
Within 14 days of the installation of a manufactured home, the County Auditor and Treasurer must be notified. It is the installer’s/homeowner’s responsibility to provide this notice. Often the retailer provides this notice. The set-crew installer carries the majority of the burden for this notice as they have set the home on the site. Part of the contract with the retailer should include clarification as to which installer makes this notice of installation. You must send the Notice of Installation with in the 14 days in order to avoid a $100.00 penalty being added to your taxes.